Wonder returns


If only I had wondered… I dreamed about such goings on but no, my absence over the past few days has been as a result of what I had referred to as ‘a cold’, turns out to be have been way more than that. No this is not being dramatised in any way. To say resting my laptop on my lap while I type was actually beyond me is no exaggeration at all. So now you have the long way round a person telling the world (now maybe that is a bit over exaggerated) I had, no have a cold. I know like 11 days and counting since it started, 4 days of antibiotics and still I have a cold and a cough which I think is really starting to irritate everyone in my house but unfortunately not a lot I can do about that and to be honest it’s irritating me way more!!

So having done nothing for like the pass few days I, I decided it was time to get it together.  So after taking the girls to the climbing centre in Manchester , I did some food shopping then decided when I got home I just had to clean the house. It was disgusting. So without so much as a sit down with a coffee and a few paracetamol to numb the pain shooting from my head to my toes and every little muscle in between. I knew if I sat down that would be it I just wouldn’t move. So rummaging through the fridge to discard anything we missed last week which would be out of date. I made a mental not of things I really shouldn’t buy and maybe things I should buy more of when I check the date of the eggs. For some reason eggs are the bug bear,  well one of the bugs bear of my grocery shop. No matter how much I try they always always seem to go out of date aarrrggghhh drives me mad. Anyway as I was saying before I digressed, I found eggs which are almost at their use by date in the course of my reckie. Ok so I’m making a cake, maybe use up the apples and make my legendary apple cake uummm lovely. So now my head throbbing, my list just gets longer. I mentally process how I see my afternoon panning out. Fridge sort out, shopping away, cleaning (a must) whole house definitely. And secretly the hope of that call I was promised from my friend to meet up for a cuppa. Then back to the list call ironing lady, I really can’t face it this week and it would be really nice to have lovely pressed clothes in my wardrobe when I get each morning this week. I justify this with the fact I do have a busy week. More about that later. After calling ironing lady to arrange to drop off ironing, take ironing to ironing lady, she’s very good. Call a my friends drop off her birthday present, it’s only like 3 days late… Come home take a shower, maybe get a call from friend regarding cuppa and finally eat something. And all this was processing through my head as I work my way though my first task. Oh think of something for dinner. It’s hard when I have to cook for others. If it was just me I would maybe just have egg on toast or something. But when you have to cook for others it’s hard to come up with something interesting. You know chicken or fish just doesn’t cut it every day. Or at least you have to try to make it interesting. Let me just tell you there has been nothing interesting about this weeks menu… And for that matter t’s not about to change massively today. Decided chicken pie, roasties and vegetables. Not that bad really I suppose.

So where I am going with this, to be honest I have no idea. I may have to read back what I’ve written so far.

Oh yeah my mental list… I can say with pride I got through my list, almost. Cleanings done, cake baked, iI did eat. shower not yet but will do that after I collect my ironing from the ironing lady. Present dropped into my friend done, call to have a cuppa with other friend never made it but hey never mind. Would have been nice though I suppose.

As promised, my busy week. Again in comparison to how my weeks used to be, not to bad but hey I’d gotten used to being a lady of leisure. This week I’m hosting toddler time stories and promotion for my business all in one a kind of kill two birds with one stone situation. Pick up boys from climbing at 6.30. Try and prepare dinner in the afternoon, think I could be home late. That’s Monday. Then its teaching all day Wednesday. Thursday brings another story session. Then the Social group in the evening. Friday well at the moment the day time is kind of free then meeting friends in the local forone of the guys from the social groups  birthday. At some point must try to touch base with the publisher, need to figure out where we are up too with the book was really hoping it would be available for christmas. We’ll see.

This my friends is the first time I’ve written anything in  quite  a few days. I hadn’t really had the will or the interest or anything really. Think it was my cold but maybe it wasn’t. While I’ve been a little under the weather I did get to thinking about the whole baby thing again. Things like what would I do if I was unwell and on my own with a baby? I figured I don’t have he answers but I don’t doubt I’d figure it out. Things like who would be the person I’d call first in an absolute emergency? Well I don’t have the answer to that either. But again I don’t doubt I would figure it out. The one thing I do know, with absolutely no doubt is I want to be in a position to figure it out. Let’s face it I still had to look after everyone who lives in my house this past week and a half. I host international students who stay with me for a fee in return for bed and board, with a little bit of conversation thrown on. Works well (except when I’m feeling crappy with a cold of course) it helps pay the bills, so I can write more keeps me and my house busy.  It’s all good.   

So now to collect  my ironing from the ironing lady, take a shower then off to bed.

But before  do I thought I would share my apple cake recipe with you

You will need

*2 or 3 cooking apples, sliced

*Lemon juice from 1/2 lemon

*120z (350g) self raising flour

*120z               Caster sugar

*2 teaspoons baking powder

*8oz (225g) butter, I use flora

*1 teaspoon Almond essence

*4 Eggs

*Cake tin approx 30x23cm

Pre heat oven Gas mark 4 or 180

Measure the flour, caster sugar, baking powder place into a mixing bowl

Melt the butter (flora) in a saucepan 

Beat the eggs and almond ess together

When butter (flora) melted mix with flour,caster sugar, baking powder and beaten eggs and almond ess together in the mixing bowl. Mix well.

When smooth pour half the mixture into the cake tin. Place apples in the mixture then pour the rest of the mixture over the apples. Don’t worry if the mixture doesn’t cover all the apples it will spread when baking.

Place in the middle of the oven and bake fo 1 hour 15mins.  

Then enjoy. It’s truly delicious x

About angejay18

I am 40 yrs old and i think could be going through a mid life crisis... but i'm not sure. I enjoy writing and am in the process of publishing my 2nd book
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

