Monday, a new beginning


If someone had told me that today would bring good news I may have scoffed… Whatever!!

They didn’t but it did. The nasty cold, which I’m sure is getting nastier aside.

Disturb from my long lie in, actually I wasn’t a sleep I was deeply engrossed in my book. Juliet Naked, written by Nick Hornby, would recommend it. Definitely a good read. Anyways disturb from my reading by a call from the teaching agency. I nearly let it go to voice mail, I wasn’t planning on teaching today plus it was like 9.30am, so no I wasn’t planning on getting out of my bed anytime soon. So after a moment of deliberation I took the call. An unfamiliar voice introduced herself as Jennifer then started on about a jib I had been told a few weeks ago had been past on de to my accident rendering me unavailable. So to say I was confused would be an understatement. My brain wouldn’t couldn’t process the information on the other end of the line. I have to say this poor girl must have thought she was talking to a neandrthol as I stuttered and mumbled incoherently. ‘Ok’ said the rather hurried voice on the end of the line. ‘why don’t you have a cup of tea and a little think about it then call me back, I don’t want to take you out of your comfort zone’. ‘Ok, I’ll call you back later’ I said as I hung up.

It took a few moments for me to realise what I had just done. What is wrong with me? Of course I want the job, Jesus it’s on my doorstep, it’s pretty much teaching what I love, almost anyway. And lets face it in todays climate a job offer like tis doesn’t come along everyday.  After stumbling downstairs, ok so I did get out of bed but I was planning on going back there very soon. I started to make the tea I was advised to make then called Jennifer back. Only I couldn’t remember her name so just gave mine, she seems to understand I was having some kind of not good morning. I did however feel the need to explain that I was suffering from a nasty cold so as to make some sort of point that I was actually a capable individual and not some sort of Neanderthal. Once I felt I had made some headway with the Neanderthal situation I explained I would love to take the job at my local high school. Woo hoo. I just bag me a job. Fan… bloody… tastic…

Inspired by my new found employment status I got to work on the information packs I have been putting together to send round to local schools introducing my teaching services aimed at supporting young people struggling with school. The packs are now ready to go so will spend tomorrow mailing them to a number of local schools, residential children’s homes and Social Services departments. I know what I do is great the kids always respond well and achieve so now I just need to put myself out there. I mean if I’m going to be a mummy I need to get it together.

This afternoon I actually made arrangements to meet my friend. I txt asked he agreed just like friends do. I don’t know I think I really need to stop over analysing things. Hopefully the introduction of a fuller schedule will keep the imagination from going into overdrive. That I’m sure will be a relieve to many.

Finally, finally things are picking up… And not before time. When I told one of the mum’s from school I had a cold today she said ‘Oh no, it’s one thing after another’ Funnily enough I don’t feel like that right now I kind of feel like more good things than bad are happening to me right now. The job, my new car, (in replace of my old crashed car), the possibility of another shot at another pregnancy are good things.

Plans, that’s he way forward.

However I haven’t heard anything from the job I applied for in Malaysia but its early days I suppose.

And no I haven’t forgot my books in pubs theory… I’m on it honest I am  x

About angejay18

I am 40 yrs old and i think could be going through a mid life crisis... but i'm not sure. I enjoy writing and am in the process of publishing my 2nd book
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

